Overview on Civil Services Examination

Civil Services Academy, Hyderabad, is providing coaching to both Civils and Groups not only to the students of Hyderabad, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh, but also for the students of entire India. We impart in a student-centric manner, quality content, knowledge base and necessary exam-clearing reading, writing and speaking skills. In addition to these our students get a solid grounding in communication and leadership qualities in a time-bound and effective manner.

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Civil Services Examination (CSE) is one of the toughest exams in the country. It offers opportunities to get into the highest positions of administration in the country like IAS, IPS, IFS, and IRS and so on. Let us look at the selection process for this exam.

Selection into these services is done by the UPSC through an all India level competitive examination held in 3 stages every year. The entire process takes nearly a full calendar year. Notification for CSE is usually released in May every year..
The first stage of this examination is called the Civil Services Preliminary (CSP) exam, commonly known as Prelims. It is held every year in the month of August. This year it is going to be conducted on Sunday the 23rd of August, 2015. It consists of two papers- General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II, popularly known as Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT). A candidate has to clear this stage to be eligible to take the Main Examination, popularly called as Mains. The CSP is in the nature of a Screening Test only because it is intends to separate serious candidates from the non serious candidates. The number of candidates to be admitted to the Main Examination will be about twelve to thirteen times the number of vacancies to be filled of that particular year.
The Main Examination consists of 2 stages. The first stage is the written part and the second stage is the Personality Test, popularly known as the Interview. Main exams consist of 9 papers. The first 2 papers are English Language and Indian Language papers. A candidate has to qualify in these papers and the marks secured in these 2 papers are not reckoned for the purpose of ranking.
The remaining 7 papers are
1) Essay:                                            250 Marks
2) General Studies (GS) Paper I: 250 Marks
3) GS Paper II:                                 250 Marks
4) GS Paper III:                                250 Marks
5) GS Paper IV:                                250 Marks
and 2 papers in 1 Optional (250 Marks Each) to be selected from among the list of Optionals mentioned in the notification.

Every year, lakhs of aspirants apply for the exam. Among them only a few thousands are serious. Some students may give an attempt just to get the feel of the exam and, after taking coaching, give a serious attempt. We advice you not to waste your valuable attempts.

Read More